Super Easy Way To Cook Salmon.

10 Jan

On Tuesdays I try to cook fish. It’s the one weeknight that I don’t work till 7:30 or 8pm. The other weeknights I have to rely on slow-cooker cookin’ or leftovers. Both options I have to leave instructions for either my 16 year old or my hubby for all the finishing touches. I also have to hope my finished product turned out okay. But Tuesdays I can play around a bit, and I choose to play with fish.

I love sauces. They can dress up the simplest of dishes. This post isn’t about a sauce though. Its about the simple dish, that can stand alone or get dressed up with a favorite sauce.

I don’t list exact quantities because you can use this recipe to make one or two servings of salmon or several servings.

Ingredients

salmon fillets

juice from a lemon(s)  (sometimes I just use prepared lemon juice)

grass-fed butter (Kerrygold butter is my go to)

dried dill

salt (optional)

Preheat oven 350 degrees.

I usually use a glass casserole that is big enough for however many salmon fillets I have to lay flat with a bit of space around them. You can coat the casserole with coconut oil or butter first if you want.

Lay your salmon in the casserole and pour a little lemon juice over each fillet.

Sprinkle each fillet with dried dill.

Then using a paring knife or small knife of choice, cut thin slices of butter to lay on the top of the dill sprinkled salmon fillets. Place the slices about an inch apart on each fillet. So a six inch  fillet would have about 3 slices of butter on it. Sprinkle with salt (optional) to taste.

Put casserole in oven for about 15 minutes. To test for doneness, stick a fork directly on the top of a fillet and twist back some of the fish meat. If it flakes it is done. If it doesn’t flake, just cook a little longer, checking every two minutes.

Serve just as is or pair it with a favorite sauce.

Before I go, a quick update on my challenge to myself to go “paleo” for a month. Like I’ve said before, not much is different from how I normally eat. I’ve noticed that less carbs makes me a bit grouchy and tired. Since low-carb isn’t really necessary for me (I’m fairly lean and active), I have to be careful to use sweet potatoes and fruit. I went back to coffee and I’m takin’ black. Tea is yummy but it just doesn’t get me going in the morning the way a cuppa Joe does. I do feel like I’m running on a “cleaner fuel” with the absence of things like corn, rice and dairy. It will be interesting to see how I will feel with their reintroduction. Sometimes I think whether or not I will go a month is a day by day choice. If I start to feel my energy lag too much and I can’t remedy it with sweet taters and fruit, then I will add dairy perhaps.

Leave a Reply

At the Barre with Miss Erin

An Honest Discussion About All Things Dance.

Charlotte Hammer

Finding God in Unexpected Places

fueled by vegetables

You say tomato, I say LET'S EAT!

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

The Paleo Mama

Homesteading | Homeschooling | Holistic | Hippie | Paleo(ish) Mama of 2

Everyday Savings

Have more to spend with family and friends.

theglowingyogi

yoga lifestyle

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

welcome2mycave

Just a mom trying to keep her cavedwellers happy, healthy and sane.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

