Ginger And Lime Swai.

19 Feb

The last time I bought some swai fillets (a white-flesh fish similar to catfish) the cashier asked me what I was planning to do with it. I had had similar conversations with him in the past, so it was a welcome query. Since my goals for dinner that night were to make a fish dish and use up things I already had, I threw out, “Well, I don’t have green onions, but I have red onion. Okay, red onion, ginger and lemon.”

“Oh. I don’t know about the lemon and red onion.”

“Umm…how ’bout lime. Lime, red onion and fresh ginger.”

“Yup. That’ll work. Sort of a Thai flavor.”

Recipe planned!

Ginger and Lime Swai.

ingredients

5-7 swai fillets, rinsed and gently patted dry

~1 1/2-2 tablespoons fresh ginger, finely minced (written tutorial at end of recipe on one way to mince fresh ginger)

1 small red onion or 1/2  of a large red onion, finely chopped (for chopping, I love my Vidalia Chop Wizard)

juice from 2 limes (or equivalent amount of prepared lime juice) salt to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place fish in glass casserole or baking dish (for this amount of fish I usually wind up using my big casserole and then a smaller one). Sprinkle ginger over fillets. Do the same with the red onion. If you don’t want to use all of the red onion, set remainder aside and use in a green salad or store in fridge for another recipe. Pour lime juice over fillets. I use a teaspoon to help control how much juice I pour over each fillet. Unless I’m using prepared lime juice, then I just squirt right from the bottle. Sprinkle salt to taste.

IMG_0935

Let fish and other ingredients sit  for ~15-20 minutes. Bake in oven for 40-50 minutes. Fish will be done when it appears opaque and can be flaked apart with a fork.

IMG_0938

*Mincing fresh ginger- Take your fresh ginger root and with a regular vegetable peeler shave away the peel of just the amount you want to use. Make sure to run the peeler away from you when shaving. Since you won’t be using a lot of ginger all at once the area you shave will be fairly small. Once area is peeled, take your chopping knife and slice thin coins of ginger. Mince peeled coins. If storing in the fridge, just take the remaining root and pop into a zip-lock baggie and store in veggie crisper. You can store in the freezer too. I find it more difficult to prepare quickly if  my ginger is frozen.

Serve ginger and lime swai with a salad or vegetable of choice.

I threw together a simple blend of cauliflower, carrots, bok choy  and garlic.

Sauté about 1-2 cloves of minced garlic in 2 tablespoons of coconut oil. Toss in some chopped up cauliflower flowerettes and carrots. Sauté for a few minutes or till you start to get a little color on the veggies.

IMG_0936

Then toss in some chopped up bok choy. Pour about 1/4 cup of soy sauce (I use gluten-free) over veggies and sauté for a few more minutes. Then lower heat to low, cover and let vegetables get tender and share their flavors.

IMG_0937

Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Ginger And Lime Swai.”

  1. Cathie L. January 26, 2014 at 4:16 pm #

    It might be a good idea to lightly oil the baking pan with coconut or olive oil. Also the cooking time is much too long! More like 12-15 minutes at 350 degrees for swai.

Leave a Reply

At the Barre with Miss Erin

An Honest Discussion About All Things Dance.

Charlotte Hammer

Finding God in Unexpected Places

fueled by vegetables

You say tomato, I say LET'S EAT!

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

The Paleo Mama

Homesteading | Homeschooling | Holistic | Hippie | Paleo(ish) Mama of 2

Everyday Savings

Have more to spend with family and friends.

theglowingyogi

yoga lifestyle

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

welcome2mycave

Just a mom trying to keep her cavedwellers happy, healthy and sane.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

