Spaghetti Squash With Easy Sausage And Tomato Sauce.

5 Mar

 

I love spaghetti squash. Even before I gave up gluten, which meant giving up traditional wheat pasta, I loved the flavor and texture of this unique squash. It’s fun combing a fork through a cooked half of a spaghetti squash. Watching how “noodles” magically appear. In my experience it’s pretty hard to completely mess up the texture, so it holds up great with a sauce and as a leftover. Yummy even with just butter and some salt and pepper.

What I don’t enjoy it breaking into one of these bad boys when it is uncooked. Okay, maybe there have been occasions where releasing some aggression whilst wielding a large knife have served some good for me. But for the most part, I just want the damn thing open so I can get to the fun “noodling” part. Oh, and the eating part too.

In the past I have cut my spaghetti squashes before cooking. I start off with carefully placed cuts and then quickly deteriorate to a “knife stuck halfway thru” slamming technique. My dad, who is a custom knife and flintlock rifle maker, would go into hysterics if he saw me engage in such shameful behavior. Plus, I’m pretty sure it’s bad for my knives. Duh.

Can you cook a spaghetti squash whole? A quick search on the Google led me here. The nice thing about this About.com post is that it gives pros and cons to various methods of cooking the squash.

Yes, you can cook a spaghetti squash whole.

Cooking Spaghetti Squash Whole

Advantages: It’s easier. Disadvantages: It takes longer to cook, and you need to watch out for burns when removing the pulp and seeds.
Method: Pierce the squash several times with a sharp knife. (Do this especially if you’re microwaving it, or you may end up with a “Squash Explosion.”)

I experienced the microwave explosion with a small spaghetti squash once. Not pretty.

To cook the squash whole, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Pierce the squash in several places with a knife. I think I probably pierced a 1/2 inch in or so.

Place the pierced squash in the oven to cook for 1 hour.

Now the sauce.

Sausage and Tomato Sauce

ingredients;

2 lbs. sausage. I used mild breakfast because that’s what I had on hand, but if you have a favorite sausage, then definitely use that.

1 oz. can tomato paste (tomato paste is good to just have on hand).

6 oz. water, use the empty paste can

2 15 oz. cans of diced tomatoes.

1 tablespoon dried basil

1 tablespoon dried oregano

*if you are using a spicy sausage you might want to adjust the amount of herbs.

Cook sausage in a skillet over med.-high heat till fully cooked. Then add paste and 6 oz. water, cans of diced tomatoes, basil and oregano. Mix, then lower heat to med.-low. When sauce starts to simmer, lower heat to low and cover. Sometimes I will place the lid slightly askew, allowing just a little vent. The sauce can just sit while your squash continues to bake.

 

 

 

 

 

Then take a fork and start shredding and separating process.

IMG_1011

Don’t worry if the walls of the squash start to fall apart. Just keep separating those threads. Double check that no chunks of rind get mixed in.

Once I’ve done both halves, I like to pour some olive oil over my spaghetti strands, maybe a couple dashes of sea salt, and gently toss.

IMG_1012

Voila!

IMG_1013

You can top off with some shredded parmesan or similar cheese.

Serve with a favorite veggie or green salad.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

At the Barre with Miss Erin

An Honest Discussion About All Things Dance.

Charlotte Hammer

Finding God in Unexpected Places

fueled by vegetables

You say tomato, I say LET'S EAT!

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

The Paleo Mama

Homesteading | Homeschooling | Holistic | Hippie | Paleo(ish) Mama of 2

Everyday Savings

Have more to spend with family and friends.

theglowingyogi

yoga lifestyle

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

welcome2mycave

Just a mom trying to keep her cavedwellers happy, healthy and sane.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

