Two Fish Dishes {And A Nifty Way To Use Up Homemade Mayo!}

14 Mar

IMG_1030

 

Since embarking on changing how my family eats, a journey of about 2 or so years, I’ve learned a thing or two. For the record, chow around here is on the paleo/primal/gluten-free spectrum. We try to focus on animal protein (including seafood), healthy fats (avocados, coconut oil, olive oil), veggies and fruits, nuts and seeds. We also use some dairy (grass-fed butter, full fat yogurt, organic heavy whipping cream) and we eat white rice throughout the week. Tortilla chips make their way in way more than they probably should. My “clean eating” skills are definitely a work in progress. But my family and I have had quite a bit of success with the changes.

So one of the things I try to keep to, at least a sparse minimum, are food products containing canola oil. Understanding why one should be consuming “these” fats/oils and not “those” can be sort of overwhelming. At least for me. So I’ll leave it in the hands of the experts. Here are some links if you would like to read more;

The Great Con-ola. from the Weston A. Price Foundation Some very eye-opening things about Canola oil’s development and marketing. Kinda scary too.

9 Steps To Perfect Health. from Chris Kresser’s site.

Healthy Oils. from Mark Sisson’s site Mark’s Daily Apple.

Yeah, the dreaded Con-oil makes it into our feed, through condiments or processed snacks, but like I said earlier, I try to keep it to a minimum. One of the ways is to make my own mayo, using olive oil. There are variation; avocado oil, bacon grease, macadamia oil. I enjoy the flavor, my kids- so so. I will have to continue to do some tinkering to get just the right flavor.

Here’s the main thing I have learned about homemade mayo; it can be sort of a pain in the ass to make! Mainly because you have to pour the oil in at a painfully slow pace. So when I make it, I want every last drop to get consumed! Because it is homemade, and not filled with a slew of preservatives, it’s refrigerator shelf life is much shorter than commercial mayo. Even commercial  “olive oil” mayo is full of canola oil.

So, below I have some recipes that use paleo mayo (homemade mayo) for when you know you just aren’t going to finish of a batch before it might start to turn. Note that I am not saying to use turned (rotten) mayo. Just a couple of ways to use it up so that you don’t wind up with bad mayo in your fridge.

Below the recipes I have a basic homemade mayo recipe and an awesome tip that I learned about recently.

White Fish with Red Pepper and Shallot Mayo Sauce.

ingredients;

~2-2 1/2 lbs. white fish ( I used swai)

4 cups diced red and/or yellow bell peppers (I used the mini ones. 24 was the arbitrary number I landed on. My scientific method; dumping the bag out on the counter and counting what I had).

2 shallots, thinly sliced

around 3/4 to 1 cup of homemade mayo, recipe to follow.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Rinse of fish fillets and gently pat dry. Place in a baking dish or glass casserole. I usually splash a little lemon juice and lightly salt my fish while it waits to be topped and baked.
In a skillet over med. heat, roast the peppers and shallots. I don’t put any oil in the pan, just let the heat bring out the flavor. because there is not oil, you want to keep and eye on the peppers and shallots. keep them moving. When they start to color remove from heat.

IMG_1028

When they have cooled a bit, toss them into a food processor with the mayo. A dash or two of sea salt. Run in the food processor just for a second or two. You want to mince a bit and blend, not pulverize.

Spoon and spread over fish.

Bake in oven for about 25-30 minutes. Test for doneness by pressing a fork into the top of fish, if you can flake it, it’s done.

IMG_1031

shown here with some “cauliflower rice”.

Enjoy!

Baked Salmon with Cilantro Mayo.

ingredients;

~2-2 1/2 lbs. pounds salmon fillets

a few thin slices of fresh ginger

1-2 cloves garlic, chopped (the food processor will do the rest)

handful of fresh cilantro, or however much you want to use/use up

around 3/4 to 1 cup homemade mayo, recipe to follow

salt to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Rinse of fish fillets and gently pat dry. Place in a baking dish or glass casserole. I usually splash a little lemon juice and lightly salt my fish while it waits to be topped and baked.

In a food processor, blend ginger, garlic, cilantro, mayo and salt till cilantro is finely chopped. Spoon and spread over fish.

IMG_1057

Bake in oven for about 25-30 minutes. Test for doneness by pressing a fork into the top of fish, if you can flake it, it’s done.

IMG_1058

Serve with a favorite veggie or green salad. Maybe even some rice or sweet potaotes!

Enjoy!

Okay. Homemade mayo recipe. Super basic. One very important thing to plan for is that the eggs need to be about room temperature. So set them out on the counter for about and hour.

ingredients;

2 eggs

2 cups olive oil. Don’t use virgin or extra virgin, as it will make your mayo taste very olivey.

2 tablespoon apple cider vinegar, I use Bragg’s Organic Apple Cider Vinegar. Available at most healthfood stores, and even regular grocery stores.

1-2 teaspoons yellow mustard, depending on how much you like mustard.

1/8-14 teaspoon cayenne pepper. Warning; the pepper heat over time I have found. If there are delicate taste buds in your home, go light.

 

In a food processor, put in your room temp. eggs, apple cider vinegar, mustard and cayenne pepper. If you are concerned about using raw eggs and would like to DIY pasteurize them, here is a link on how to.

Okay, here comes the tip I am so excited about. in the past, I would stand over my food processor, ever so slowly pouring the olive oil in. The stream has to be somewhere between droplets and thin thread. This is necessary for the mayo to “set up”. Uhg!

Joshua Weissman, creator of the site Slim Palate (check out his site!). For his Duck Egg Mayonnaise, he recommends using a condiment squirt bottle to add the oil. I almost cried when I read that. Brilliant!

I got a cheapo one at the grocery store, and it works great. It still takes time and you still have to add the oil slowly, but it’s a lot less agonizing than teetering a dang measuring cup. So now I don’t grouse like I used to at the thought of mak’in me some mayo.

 

 

Leave a Reply

At the Barre with Miss Erin

An Honest Discussion About All Things Dance.

Charlotte Hammer

Finding God in Unexpected Places

fueled by vegetables

You say tomato, I say LET'S EAT!

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

The Paleo Mama

Homesteading | Homeschooling | Holistic | Hippie | Paleo(ish) Mama of 2

Everyday Savings

Have more to spend with family and friends.

theglowingyogi

yoga lifestyle

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

welcome2mycave

Just a mom trying to keep her cavedwellers happy, healthy and sane.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

