Boy Vs. Chicken!

9 Apr

IMG_1162

 

 

I am not good at sharing kitchen space when I am cooking. I’ve read wonderful accounts of blogging moms who patiently and graciously introduce their eager chitlins to the kitchen arts by having them help and explore during the preparations of the family meals.

I can usually be found barking and hissing at any and all who dare breach the threshold of our home’s hearth when I am in the thick of prepp’in grub.

There have been exceptions. When 16 year old Caitlyn was in 4th grade she had  an assignment to cook a meal in the fashion of the California missions. I think we whipped up something far fancier than what  17th century Franciscan monks ate. We spent the whole day together in the kitchen, and I remember it being fun, sociable and a great learning experience for us both. So I know I have it in me.

Occasionally Daddy-Man and I will co-chef. Often enough though, it’s him coming in to rescue a new recipe that I’ve taken off the rails. He will swoop in after I’ve hollered for the cans of tuna to be brought in and  “Will somebody make me drink. Stat!”

Fortunately, our kids get time with Daddy-Man in the kitchen. He is, by far, the more patient and industrious between the two of us.

So I was delighted to hear about B-Town, our soon to be 9 year old, helping with the cutting up of the oven roasted chicken last night. Three nights a week I teach dance classes until about an hour or more past dinner time. So I usually will have something cooked ahead of time, needing just a bit of prep to get it table ready.

I guess the back story was that B-Town wanted to kick the soccer ball around with Dad, just as Dad was getting dinner ready to serve. Not wanting to completely reject his offer to do something together, Dad invited him to cut up the chicken. Fortunately DD had her camera phone at the ready.

IMG_1163

Daddy-Man showing him the ropes.

IMG_1160 IMG_1161

B-Town definitely getting the hang of it!

Some of the cuts were a little funky. But hey, not bad for his first time! Teeth and fingers have to be good for something, right?

This is great news for me, because a). they are learning to help in the kitchen, and b). I hate cutting up chickens. Now I can pass the task off with confidence.

Do you like to enlist the help of family in the kitchen? Or do you like to cook as a soloist? What tasks do you have your kids do?  

Leave a Reply

At the Barre with Miss Erin

An Honest Discussion About All Things Dance.

Charlotte Hammer

Finding God in Unexpected Places

fueled by vegetables

You say tomato, I say LET'S EAT!

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

The Paleo Mama

Homesteading | Homeschooling | Holistic | Hippie | Paleo(ish) Mama of 2

Everyday Savings

Have more to spend with family and friends.

theglowingyogi

yoga lifestyle

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

welcome2mycave

Just a mom trying to keep her cavedwellers happy, healthy and sane.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

