Homemade Tartar Sauce and Some Yummy Fish Bites.

12 Apr

I wish I could take credit for the recipe of the delicious fish bites I made to other night, but their yumminess makes me not really care where they came from, and just happy that I now have the recipe. Where I did find the recipe for fishy bites was at The Paleo Mama.

Easy, inexpensive and kid-tastebud friendly, I will be making these many more times in the future. In The Paleo Mama’s post she had made a honey mustard dip. I decided to go with a homemade tartar sauce. Earlier in the day I had whipped up some homemade mayo (mayo recipe towards the bottom of the linked post). I also had just bought a jar of Bubbie’s Dill Pickles. So between the Braggs Apple Cider vinegar in the mayo and the Bubbie’s pickles, my tartar sauce would be filled with “culture”. Rha-thar.

I diced up a dill pickle, very fine. I then added about 1/4 cup homemade mayo (I went with a small amount, just in case I got some turned up noses). I put in a pinch of cayenne pepper (optional, especially since there is cayenne already in the mayo). Mix.

8 year old Brian wanted nothing to do with, and ate leftover Chinese takeout instead. Caitlyn and Neil (16 and 12 respectively) dug in and loved them. DD and Daddy-Man were at school and rock band practice (respectively). I think they will dig them next time.

Yup, Fishy Bites and Homemade Tartar Sauce are in the rotation for the foreseeable future.

Do you have a favorite sauce  for dishes like Fishy Bites or chicken nuggets?

 

Leave a comment

At the Barre with Miss Erin

An Honest Discussion About All Things Dance.

fueled by vegetables

You say tomato, I say LET'S EAT!

Everyday Savings

Have more to spend with family and friends.

theglowingyogi

yoga lifestyle

welcome2mycave

Just a mom trying to keep her cavedwellers happy, healthy and sane.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.